Returning

Tuesday I leave my community, Pimampiro, not knowing when I can return.

Saying goodbye is proving to be extremely difficult. I have seven classes that I teach all together at the high school, and only once a week. 1 on Monday, 3 on Tuesday, 1 on Wednesday and 2 on Thursday. So this entire past week I’ve been starting every day with, know what? This is my last class with you guys. Not to mention my classes in Paragachi Tuesdays and Wednesdays, which have been a light in my week all year. So far I’ve had two goodbye parties at my school, with another one scheduled for Monday, and one in Paragachi. Not to mention all the goodbye-saying I’ll be doing with my family and my boyfriend.

As hard as it is, it’s touching how close I’ve become with people here. These days, I’ve become even closer with my mom, something I’d been struggling with since arriving. My quiet assistant from Paragachi gave me a photo frame to take home and a handmade wallet from her mom my last day teaching. Several of my students have given me friendship bracelets by which to remember them. The first question every asks is, so when are you coming back? I don’t have an answer yet so I say, algun dia. One day. No one is satisfied with that answer but it’s better than never.

 

Just some logistical info because I know it’ll be asked,

After I leave Pimampiro Tuesday, April 9th, I’ll be staying in Quito until Sunday April 14th for re-entry training. Then I’ll be returning to the States, but in California for another week of re-entry training until April 20th, when the program officially ends. However, I’m staying in California an additional week a conocer (to get to know). My ticket is purchased to return to NC on April 27th, I believe in the wee hours of the morning or la madrugada.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Paul Scott McMillan

     /  April 7, 2013

    As you say good by, I say welcome home young lady.
    Very proud of you!!
    Paul Scott & Terri

    Reply
  2. -- uncle andy

     /  April 8, 2013

    Sarah – the challenges involved in returning to the US are different, but no less important than the challenges in leaving. I am glad to hear you will get some training to prepare you and help you deal with them. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy your closing time with your local family and friends to the fullest! And, as always, your post has taught me something to remember … “algun dia” … I like that phrase and all that it implies. Travel safe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

